Top News

First pitch for AGR softball season set for June 6

Mike Deon of the Pomquet Acadians makes a snow-cone catch during 2017 Antigonish Guysborough Rural (AGR) playoff action. The 2018 season will kick-off Wednesday, June 6. File
Mike Deon of the Pomquet Acadians makes a snow-cone catch during 2017 Antigonish Guysborough Rural (AGR) playoff action. The 2018 season will kick-off Wednesday, June 6. File - Corey LeBlanc

The Antigonish Guysborough Rural (AGR) softball season will get underway Wednesday, June 6.    

The defending champion Pomquet Acadians will host the Heatherton Warriors in a doubleheader, with opening pitch set for 7 p.m.    

The Guysborough Broadhorns, St. Andrews Flyers and St. Josephs Chiefs are the other competitors in the five-team loop.    

Here is the remaining regular season schedule: Fri., June 8: Guysborough vs. St. Andrews (2), 7 p.m.; Tues., June 12: Heatherton vs. St. Josephs, 6:30 p.m.; Wed., June 13: St. Andrews vs. Pomquet  (2), 7 p.m.; Fri., June 15: St. Josephs vs. Guysborough (2), 7 p.m.; Tues. June 19: Pomquet vs. St. Josephs, 6:30 p.m.; Wed., June 20: St. Andrews vs. Heatherton, 6:30 p.m.; Fri., June 22: Pomquet vs. Guysborough (2), 7 p.m.; Tues., June 26: St. Andrews vs. St. Josephs, 6:30 p.m.; Fri., June 29: Heatherton vs. Guysborough (2), 7 p.m.; Tues., July 3: Pomquet vs. Heatherton, 6:30 p.m.; Wed., July 4: St. Josephs vs. Pomquet, 7 p.m.; Fri., July 6: St. Josephs vs. St. Andrews  (2), 7 p.m.; Sun. July 8: Guysborough vs. Heatherton (2), 1:30 p.m.; Tues., July 10: Pomquet vs. St. Josephs, 6:30 p.m.; Wed., July 11: St. Andrews vs. Heatherton, 6:30 p.m.; Fri., July 13: Guysborough vs. Pomquet (2), 7 p.m.; Tues., July 17: Heatherton vs. St. Josephs, 6:30 p.m.; Wed. July 18: Pomquet vs. Heatherton, 6:30 p.m.; Fri., July 20: Pomquet vs. St.Andrews (2), 7 p.m.; Guysborough vs. St Josephs, 6:30 p.m.; Tues., July 24: Guysborough vs. St. Josephs, 6:30 p.m.; Fri., July 27: Heatherton vs. St. Andrews (2), 7 p.m.; Tues., July 31: St. Andrews vs. St. Josephs, 6:30 p.m.; Wed., Aug. 1: St. Josephs vs. Pomquet, 7 p.m.; Fri., Aug. 3: St. Andrews  vs. Guysborough (2), 7 p.m.; Sun., Aug. 5: St. Josephs vs. Heatherton (2), 1:30 p.m.    

The championship tournament will run from Tuesday, Aug. 21 to Saturday, Aug. 25, with Sunday, Aug. 26 serving as a rain date.

Recent Stories