Top News

SLIDESHOW: Pomquet Acadians capture AGR fast pitch crown

Bryden Boudreau named playoff tournament MVP

The Pomquet Acadians are back-to-back AGR fast pitch champions.

On their home field Saturday evening (Aug. 25), they clinched the crown with a 9-0, five-inning victory over the Heatherton Warriors in the title game of the four-team playoff tournament.

"Everyone played an equal role," shortstop Bryden Boudreau, who garnered the Joe Andy MacDonald Memorial Award as playoff MVP, said on the field after the championship trophy presentation.

He noted that team effort was the theme all season for the Acadians.

"We had a great attitude," Boudreau added.

Aspen native Donnelly Archibald tossed a one-hitter, striking out 12, for the win.

"Playing behind him is very easy," Boudreau said of his teammate, calling Archibald "one of the top pitchers in Canada."

After a scoreless first inning, the Acadians opened the scoring in the top of the second frame. Jaiden Doiron cashed in two runs with an RBI triple to left field, while lead-off hitter Dave MacPherson made it 3-0 with a run-scoring single up the middle.

The Acadians broke open the tilt with a four-run fourth inning, keyed by a monstrous two-run homer to right-center field off the bat of Boudreau, which made it 7-0.

In the top of the fifth, Mike Deon - who went 3-for-3 - stroked a solo home run to give the Acadians an eight-run cushion. 

After a double from MacPherson, Archibald helped his cause with a run-scoring single to make it 9-0.

Archibald retired the side, in order, to lock down the title.

Adam Anderson, who was relieved by Paul Purcell, took the pitching loss for the Warriors.

Semi-final action 

Earlier in the afternoon, on the strength of a five-run first inning, Heatherton punched their ticket to the championship game with an 8-1 win over the St. Josephs Chiefs.

Purcell bested Jaron Kennedy in the pitching match-up.

In the bottom of the first, Joey MacDonald ripped a two-RBI double and Trent Deyoung blasted a two-run homer, while Anderson chipped in an RBI ground out.

Logan Deyoung, after reaching base on a bloop single, scored for the Chiefs in the top of the third, after a Heatherton error.

In the bottom of the fifth, the Warriors sealed the deal with a MacDonald solo homer and RBI single to left field from catcher Steve Arsenault, who finished with three hits.

Led by another one-hit, five-inning gem from Archibald, the Acadians cruised to an 7-0 semi-final win over the St. Andrews Flyers.

Archibald, who fanned 10 of the first 12 batters he faced, did not surrender the lone Flyer hit until there were two outs in the fifth inning. James Briand, who singled, was caught stealing on a pinpoint throw from catcher Blair Van Oirschot to close the frame.

Lawrence Macpherson of St. Andrews matched Archibald, tossing four scoreless innings, before Dave MacPherson made it 2-0 with an RBI triple in the bottom of the fifth. After a three-run homer from Mark Dort, Deon secured the seven-run rule win with a two-RBI single. 

Award winners

Veteran pitchers Richie Connors of the Acadians and Purcell were named co-winners of the Gerald Chisholm Memorial Trophy, which is awarded to the top regular season pitcher. Both players finished with 5-0 marks.

Devon MacLaughlin of the St. Andrews Flyers collected the Harold Macpherson Memorial Trophy for rookie of the year, while Donald Chisholm of the Warriors received the Ernie 'Jack' Chisholm Memorial Trophy as top coach for the circuit.

Ricky Bowie of the Warriors garnered the Jerry Broussard Memorial Trophy as top hitter for the regular campaign, while the Hughie Smith Memorial Trophy - for sportsmanship and athletic ability went to Jarrett Rossong of the Chiefs.

For the playoffs, along with Boudreau's MVP effort, Kory Tate of the Flyers received the Darryl Macpherson Memorial Trophy for sportsmanship and athletic ability.

The AGR's players and teams also honoured long-time statistician Philippe Babin for his continuing dedication to the league.


Recent Stories